The Oresteia: Aeschylus (Agamemnon, Choephori, Eumenides) - Drama Classics

The Oresteia: Aeschylus (Agamemnon, Choephori, Eumenides) - Drama Classics

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Drama Classics: The World's Great Plays at a Great Little Price

Aeschylus' great trilogy of Greek tragedies about the end of the curse on the House of Atreus, The Oresteia comprises Agamemnon, Choephori (Libation-Bearers) and Eumenides (The Furies).

A fourth play, Proteus, originally formed part of a tetralogy, but has not survived.

The trilogy was first performed at the Dionysia festival in Athens in 458 BC, where it won first prize. The great trilogy that is the wellspring of Western drama.

This English version of The Oresteia, in the Nick Hern Books Drama Classics series, is translated and introduced by Marianne McDonald and J. Michael Walton.


Pages 160
Publication Date 2007
Publisher Nick Hern Books
ISBN 9781854591739
Binding Paperback
Author Aeschylus / Marianne McDonald / J. Michael Walton